Webinars, a.k.a. Do ALL THE THINGS!

I’ve been getting info about webinars from two different streams lately – our class and then the training for the 4T Conference. So I think I should be pretty prepared for the basic parts of webinars – being a moderator, how to load the technology, how to use Blackboard Collaborate, etc. However, I’m still a little nervous for the webinar itself. Luckily we don’t present for almost a week, so we have lots of times to get info and to practice.

Webinars are so complex, between the technology, the teaching, and the attempts to incorporate audience input. It’s hard to capture people’s attention when you’re just a voice and some slides coming from the computer. But Rachel, Kirsten, and I think we have come up with a couple of interesting ways to keep people engaged and maybe even have a little fun as we talk about grandfamilies (where grandparents are raising their grandchildren). It’s a lot to multi-task, but luckily we are doing these webinars in teams and so we have someone who can present, someone to moderate, and someone who can make sure the audience is seeing what we want them to see and who can look up information if someone’s question stumps us. I don’t quite know how I’ll manage everything when I’m by myself for my 4T webinar about Canva, but by then I’ll have this webinar and my time moderating the one for my 4T master teacher, Judy Bowling, under my belt, and so I should be at least a little more comfortable.

The highlight of class was Kristin’s demonstration of Blackboard. Maybe it’s because I’m incredibly tired at this point, but I will admit to being one of the students who was drawing on the presentation when we still had the privilege. I just couldn’t resist! But it did allow Kristin to take away everyone’s privileges and show us how to do that in our own presentations. All in all, the misbehavior turned into a learning opportunity. At least that’s my excuse. πŸ™‚

Well, soon enough we’ll be put to the test and have to deal with potentially rowdy (but hopefully not!) webinar goers. Our assignments have been very practical this semester, but this to me seems the most real in a lot of ways, since we’re really doing a full (albeit a little short) webinar. And we’re graded on our performance instead of our planning and reflection. Best of luck to all, and I’ll try not to doodle on your slides while you’re talking if you don’t doodle on mine. πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Webinars, a.k.a. Do ALL THE THINGS!

  1. Webinars are very complex. I’m really nervous too about doing it because I dont think we had enough time to prepare. My group plans on running through it a few time before we actually present but its still very scary. I’m glad I’m not the only one whose a little worries about it. But regradless of what happens, its a learning experience. and we will at least have some webinar experience.

  2. Do all the things…excellent title. Like Amana, you appreciate the complexity of tasks involved in doing a webinar. I’m curious as to the different tips and tricks about webinars you are picking up from your 4T Conference training. I think Kristin is involved in this conference too so I’d imagine she would also be providing guidance for webinars there too. Do you think you’d approach the webinar task differently if you did not know the participants in the audience? I’m not sure if I would. However, I do know that I was much more comfortable knowing background on my audience members so that my group and I could tailor our presentation topics to their interests. I do hope you found the school library resources helpful!

Leave a Reply

