Twitter Experiment!

So my dive into Twitter has been a whirlwind, mostly consisting of yesterday and today, but it has been an interesting experience so far! And I’m sure I’ll have more to update on in the future. Anyway, I thought I’d tell you what was up so far.

First off, my first Tweet tagged #si643:

Right now, Laurie Halse Anderson and the publisher of Speak are trying to raise funds for the Rape, Abuse, & Incest National Network, where MacMillan is matching all donations up to $15,000. Check it out! The first time around, I forgot the hashtag for class, so I did it again with it. It seems like Twitter has a few specific uses, including the ability to raise awareness and/or encourage action among users. This can also be seen in the tweets people have been sending to Representative Paul Ryan about his proposed budget that cuts funding for the Institute for Museum and Library Services. I’m not sure what impact these tweets will have, but it is a way that people are speaking out against this budget. You can’t see the tweets on Ryan’s Twitter page/feed/whatever it’s called, but you can see many if you look for #imls.

Another thing I’ve been trying to do on Twitter is grow a network of librarians and other people and organizations that might be helpful in my future as a school librarians. I started out with the bloggers I followed earlier this semester, and then followed Kristin, and then just expanded from there. There were already some authors I was following, so I kept them, and I added some more. I love authors, especially how much they support librarians. I mean, libraries are a big part of author success, but it’s also just nice that they are so fond of us! 🙂 And it’s a way to keep up with what they are doing. I also followed publishers for the same reason. It’s an easy way to keep an eye on the children’s and YA book market. Besides them, I followed a bunch of librarians, some of whom I’ve heard of and some I haven’t. It’s cool to see how close the community of librarians is on Twitter and all of the professional conversations that go on. Individual librarians and professional organizations post information about what they are up to and what is potentially coming in the world of libraries, and so again it’s a way to stay on the cutting edge. It’s also easier to follow than things like blogs because it comes in such small, condensed pieces.

So I’ve had Twitter for a little while, but this is the first time I’m using it for more than just contest entries. I kind of retooled my account, unfollowing a lot of the celebrities I was following. I already see what they are up to on Facebook, so I don’t really need to see it on another platform, even if Twitter is quite a bit different from Facebook. For me at least, I think it makes more sense to use Twitter for mostly professional business or at least things that are interesting to librarians such as myself. And I’ve linked the Tumblr from my 500 project, just to to try to do a little more with both Twitter and Tumblr. I don’t know how long I’ll stick with Twitter without needing to for a class, but now that I’m looking at it from a professional angle I think I might get at least a little more use out of it.

3 thoughts on “Twitter Experiment!

  1. I agree that twitter is much easier to use than blogs. I really like the its only 140 characters because it forces people to get to the point of be creative. Blogs require a lot of cognitive effort and keeping up with them can be hard if you aren’t super interested. Its cool that you are using it to support a case. Twitter can be very useful in disseminating information and hashtag facilitate that. The more you use it, the easier it will get.

  2. It’s interesting to me that you’d rather follow celebrities on Facebook than on Twitter. Verified celebrity Twitter accounts usually means that the content (Tweets) comes directly from the celebrity, I am not sure if the same can be said for celebrity Facebook pages. I do not mind if professionals can see the celebrities I follow. I am more cautious when becoming friends with professional contacts on Facebook because of the higher concentration of photos on FB. It is true that 140 characters is enough to get someone in trouble (see many many high profile examples) but I also believe it is easier to back up and explain statements than photos, at least in my experience. Of course, this is the inherent risk in being involved in any social media network. Putting a piece of yourself out there in any social situation is risky, whether in person or online.

    • I think Facebook has actually started verifying celebrities as well, though that is a good point about Twitter. And now that I’m more aware of lists and things like that on Twitter, I might set up different lists for my different interests so that I can look at (at least somewhat) thematically similar things at once. And I can see what you mean about what platforms to use to connect professionally. Twitter is generally much better for this since, as Kristin has said, you don’t have to put that much of yourself out there and can instead share articles and other things that interest you.

Leave a Reply

