Gaming! Also, assessments

So this past class, we watched a wonderful Ted talk by Jane McGonigal, who is a game designer.her presentation was really interesting; it looked at the amount of time gamers have spent online in games like World of Warcraft (nearly 6 MILLION years!!) and how gamers have qualities that can help them better reality. So many things in this class and at SI in general are really getting my attention, and now I can add gaming to the list! I’m a pretty casual gamer, but I’m really curious now about the effects of games and of gamification in libraries and in school.

Though McGonigal’s talk was really interesting, the point in this class was more about assessment. We filled out a survey about our experience watching the talk, answering about everything from how comfy the chairs and the room were to effectiveness of the talk to questions about the actual lecture. It was kind of funny that we got asked about the kind of shoes McGonigal was wearing – I didn’t remember that, but I did see that the flowers on her dress were made out of pixels! Super cool. Anyway, our assessment of McGonigal’s talk was to show us what happens at conferences and to show us that a lot of things in instruction are out of our control. Like the room we might be in or if the mics are working correctly or what have you – these things have nothing to do with the presenter but can have a big impact on the audience. It’s something to keep in mind. I think for me it’s important because I judge myself pretty harshly if something doesn’t go as planned, but often it’s not my fault. All I can do is my best and hope that everything else works out.

This week I was pretty brief (for me, anyway), but I hope to make up for it with a post about my experiences at Quasi-con this weekend! It was really exciting and I want to take the time to really reflect on the experience. So look for that soon!

One thought on “Gaming! Also, assessments

  1. I didn’t notice the cool pixels on the dress! Your post made me think of Simons’ “Money Business Illusion” video we watched in SI 500. When a presenter tells people to look for something specific during a presentation, whatever other details they notice will be pretty variable. So librarians should probably be mindful of how they preface programs and what they say in introductions about take-away goals for participants.

Leave a Reply

