Information Literacy Infographics

information literacy questions

my questions left after reading about information literacy and youth

This week in class, we had 45 minutes to create an infographic or other visual representation of the questions we had after choosing our readings on the topic of information literacy. You can see mine above. To create this, I used www.canva.com, which Krista found.

I liked getting a chance to try this new tool, and to challenge myself to create a visual that represents what I was left wondering about in regards to youth information literacy and information literacy in schools. The experience itself was a sort of exercise in information literacy in learning how to use Canva and to create an image that would make sense not only to me but to others. I mostly used words in this image, but I put them in word bubbles and tried to put related questions near each other.

The exercise was also useful because it made me think about questions that I had. Sometimes I don’t come up with questions about a class or a conversation or some readings until much later, and then only if I really reflect on what I was hearing/seeing/doing. In making this graphic, I was forced to reflect and therefore I really did think about what questions I had. I had some idea after doing my blog post on the readings, but this made me articulate them. All in all, I liked doing this activity in class and would be open to doing it again if possible.

4 thoughts on “Information Literacy Infographics

  1. The questions you pose in your infographic are getting at the real core of what it means to instill information literacy values into the education system. The issue of assessment of information literacy competencies, and in general, gets at issues of reliability and validity. Are we able to evaluate all students on the same scale, using the same metrics, and analyzing these measures with the same objective lens regardless of demographic differences? And then of course, is the million dollar question, how do we know that what we’re evaluating are the actual information literacy skills that we THINK we are assessing? How do you know that you know what you know?

    Also, thanks for sharing the tool site you used. As I mentioned in my reflections for the week, I have used easel.ly to make infographics before but am always interested in learning about other tools. Do you think you would be able to effectively integrate the creation of infographics into a classroom setting? (I hope you don’t mind all of my school-focused questions but I think you are in a unique position of going through the process of earning your school librarian degree and I just want to pick your brain!).

    • I think it might be a little tough to incorporate infographic-making into a classroom because the tools to make them aren’t so difficult but there is a learning curve. Students might remember how to use the tool but not what they were supposed to learn through making the infographic. And some teachers might not be comfortable with using this new technology – or maybe it’s not quite discomfort as much as questioning whether there will be a payoff to trying something new. But I think it is an activity that could work because there are a lot of free tools out there. Additionally, it could work well for the students who might be good at art or design but might not be as strong at writing – they could show their ideas in a different way. And it still gives the teacher something that they can use to assess where students are in their understanding.

  2. “In making this graphic, I was forced to reflect and therefore I really did think about what questions I had. I had some idea after doing my blog post on the readings, but this made me articulate them.”

    When we get to book clubs, we’ll talk about things as simple as index cards to get people thinking in a similar way prior to a club’s beginning.

Leave a Reply

